Healy Personnel

Present Officer & Marine Science Personnel

Captain Greg Tlapa

Commanding Officer


The Commanding Officer (CO) is Captain Greg Tlapa. Captain Tlapa assumed command of HEALY in June, 2017. As CO, Captain Tlapa is responsible for the overall safety of the ship and crew, as well as the successful completion of HEALY's assigned missions.
Commander Michelle Schallip

Executive Officer


The Executive Officer (XO) is Commander Michelle Schallip. The XO is responsible for the day to day operations onboard the ship, as well as carrying out all the administrative tasks and responsibilities necessary in making HEALY's missions successful.

LCDR James Toomey
Operations Officer

The Operations Officer (OPS), Lieutenant Commander James Toomey, oversees the daily operations of HEALY, including coordinating science mission support, information technology systems, and medical support.

LCDR Kenneth Au
Engineering Officer

The Engineer Officer (EO), Lieutenant Commander Kenneth Au, is responsible for the operation and maintenance of the most complex and technologically advanced power plant in operation within the Coast Guard. In addition, he provides support for all shipboard scientific hardware and equipment.

BOSN Justin Young

First Lieutenant (BOSN)


The First Lieutenant (BOSN) is Chief Warrant Officer Justin Young. As the First Lieutenant, CWO Young is responsible for the safety and coordination of all deck operations, science equipment deployment techniques, and small boat operations.

Beginning in 2012 the Boatswain Mates took a significant role in the Healy science deck operations.   The Deck Division is comprised of boatswain mates and deck non-rates who assist with the over-the-side deployment of science gear, operate cranes and small boats, and act as deck safety and deployment supervisors.

ENS Carlie Gilligan

Marine Science Officer


The Marine Science Officer (MSO) onboard Healy acts as the onboard liaison between the science personnel and the Healy command. The MSO also coordinates the day to day science deck operations.

MSTC Josh Scruggs

Marine Science Technician Chief


MSTC Josh Scruggs is the Marine Science Technician Chief. MSTC Scruggs is the chief of the enlisted personnel in the Marine Science Technician division. The MSTs provide deck support for deploying science gear and work closely with the scientists during cruises.

MST1 Sean Carrillo and MST2 Cory Padron are part of the Marine Science Division and also work closely with the science party.

Back to top

Past Officer & Marine Science Personnel

Comanding Officer (CO)
  • 2015-2017 Jason Hamilton
  • 2013-2015 John Reeves
  • 2011-2013 Beverly Havlik
  • 2010-2011 William Rall
  • 2008-2010 Frederick Sommer
  • 2006-2008 Tedrick Lindstrom
  • 2006 Douglas G. Russell
  • 2003-2006 Daniel K. Oliver
  • 2001-2003 David J. Visneski
  • 1999-2001 Jeffrey M. Garrett
Executive Officer (XO)
  • 2015-2016 Karl Lander
  • 2013-2015 Greg Stanclik
  • 2011-2013 Greg Tlapa
  • 2009-2011 John Reeves
  • 2007-2009 Dale Bateman
  • 2005-2007 Jeffrey Jackson
  • 2003-2005 William Rall
  • 2001-2003 Douglas G. Russell
  • 1999-2001 Dan Oliver
Engineer Officer (EO)
  • 2016-2017 Eileen Beck
  • 2014-2016 Christopher Dufresne
  • 2011-2014 Thomas Lowry
  • 2010-2011 Laura King
  • 2008-2010 Doug Petrusa
  • 2006-2008 Mark Hammond
  • 2004-2006 John Reeves
  • 2002-2004 Gregory Stanclik
  • 1999-2002 Neil Meister
Operations Officer (OPS)
  • 2014-2016 William Woityra
  • 2012-2014 Jake Cass
  • 2009-2011 Eric St. Pierre
  • 2007-2009 Jeff Stewart
  • 2005-2007 James Dalitsch
  • 2003-2005 Daryl Peloquin
  • 2001-2003 Joseph Segalla
  • 1999-2001 David Vaughn
Marine Science Officer (MSO)
  • 2015-2016 Nickolette Morin
  • 2014-2015 Carolyn Mahoney
  • 2013-2014 Rebecca Folmer
  • 2012-2013 Erin Sheridan
  • 2011-2012 Evan Steckle
  • 2010-2011 Chris Skapin (NOAA)
  • 2008-2010 Silas Ayers (NOAA)
  • 2007-2008 Brian Wagonseller (NOAA)
  • 2006-2007 Stephen Elliot
  • 2005-2006 Jessica Hill
  • 2003-2005 Neal Amaral
  • 2001-2003 Michael Woodrum
  • 1999-2001 Todd Adrian

Back to top